Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

LBCC Hall of Champions to welcome Class of 2014 on November 14

Members of this year's Hall of Champions inductee class are (left-right) Tommy Peale, Erroll Tucker, Syd O'Brien, and Magdalena Lewy-Boulet
Members of this year's Hall of Champions inductee class are (left-right) Tommy Peale, Erroll Tucker, Syd O'Brien, and Magdalena Lewy-Boulet

(LONG BEACH, CA) – The outstanding tradition of Long Beach City College (LBCC) intercollegiate athletics will be recognized with the induction of its 13th class of members into the college’s Hall of Champions on Friday, November 14, in the Hall of Champions Gymnasium (Bld. R) of the Liberal Arts Campus (LAC), 4901 E. Carson St.

The induction dinner begins at 6:45 p.m., preceded by a 6:00 p.m. reception. Tickets are $60 per person, with proceeds going toward men’s and women’s athletics and enhancement of the 2,400-square foot Hall of Champions, located in the gymnasium foyer. The facility showcases important memorabilia and the numerous accomplishments of Viking student-athletes and teams.

Ticket reservations are due by Monday, November 10. For further information on the Hall of Champions, contact the LBCC Athletic Department at (562) 938-4237.

Eight individuals will be honored at the dinner while six emeritus inductees will also be recognized. The class of 14 former Viking standouts will join a list of 166 previous inductees.

The 2014 Hall of Champions honorees are Joe Carlson (Cross Country/Track & Field, 1969-71), Marcus Hooks (Track & Field, 1987-88), Magdalena Lewy-Boulet (Cross Country/Track & Field, 1992-94), Tommy Peale (Baseball, 2005-06), Damaine Powell (Basketball, 1990-92), David Shaw (Football, 1975-76), Erroll Tucker (Football, 1982-83), and Brian Williams (Football, 1986-87).

Also, LBCC will host a luncheon for its emeritus inductees on November 14 at 11:00 a.m. in the foyer of the Hall of Champions Gym. This event is free and open to the public.

The 2014 emeritus inductees are Casey Cox (Basketball/Baseball, 1959-61), Glenn "Willie" Harmatz (Cross Country/Track & Field, 1970-72), Steve Lauriano (Football/Track & Field, 1969-71), Denny Moulton (Football/Baseball, 1964-66), Syd O'Brien (Baseball, 1963), and Tim Sweeney (Basketball, 1960-62).

To be honored as an emeritus selection, the inductee must have completed his or her participation at the college 50 years prior to induction or be deceased.

Past Hall of Champions inductees include: (2002) Ron Allice, Susie Atwood, Valerie Brisco, Betty Crilley, Bob Cvrtlik, Greg Harris, Joe Hicks, Earl McCullouch, John Rambo, Kate Schmidt, George Timberlake and Del Walker; (2003) Buck Andreasen, Dee Andrews, Ron Crawford, John Fleitz, Bill Fraser, George Marmion, Jerry Mitchell, Monte Nitzkowski, Maureen (Mo) O’Toole, Jeff Smith, Jim Stangeland and Greg Townsend; (2004) Ricardo Azevedo, Toni Bell-Skeen, Dennis Dummit, Damion Easley, Dave Frost, Gary Garrison, Patty Gasso, Dr. Charles A. (Chuck) Kane, Joe Lanning, Lorie Lindahl, Chuck Terry, and George Van Zant; (2005) Chuck Bittick, Craig Dykema, Lisa Lawrence, Bob Myers, Jeff Severson, Ann Simmons, Robbie Stuart, Homer Williams, Joe “Cowboy” Forbes, Paul Johnson, Norm Kettering, Cliff Meyer, and Bert Smith; (2006) Neo Aoga, Dominique Arnold, Ed Babtkis, Kenny Booker, Margaret Graves-Bos, Mike Giers, John E. Kashiwabara, Pam Marshall, Dan Peters, Tom Amberry, Grant Denmark, Sam Dimas, Hank Ennen, Mel Griffin, Bob Howard, Bill Jessup, Dave Levy, Bill Millington, Vince Reel, and Dewey Tompkins; (2007) Keith Cordes, Myisha Delaney, John Gonsalves, Gerry Gregory, Hank Kraychir, Dave Marshall, Bill Meyers, Samoa Samoa, Peggy Stoll-Grigonis, William C. Barnes, Tom Clark, Gene Gillies, Rollie Eilerts, Irvin “Red” Meairs, Dick Fischl, Roger Hull, Darryl Rogers; (2008) Greg Barton, Paul Chafe, Craig Chamberlain, Cleveland “Chick” Harris, Jennifer Jamie-Rocha, Jim Kelsey, Mark Neal, Donna Prindle, Jeanne Teissere-Knox, Charlie Church, Marvin Motley, Frank Newell, and Jack Salveson; (2009) Ed Crosby, Ron Drake, Laura Fetzner-Castro, Cary Hardwick, Jack Hinton, Gary “Jake” Jacobsen, Nicki Kephart-Trimble, Ernest S. McBride, Henry Andrews, Duane Baptiste, Mickey Byers, John Callard, Bob Humphreys, and Bob Seymour; (2010) Albert Dorsey, Dean Decker, Dan Gausepohl, Bernie Holloway, Willie Martin, Larry Reisbig, Allan Treffry, Cassie Zebisch, Walter “Artie” Boyd, Gus Knickrehm, Jim Lee, Don Menke, Jim Milhorn, Joe Riddick; (2011) Trevor Baker, Michele Bannister, Bill Cecil, Jim Ferguson, Crystal Irving, Kari Jondle, Lute Olson, Tim Russell, Bill “Crutch” Crutchfield, Baruch Elias, Bill Ellis, Rusty Fairly, Terry Hendrix, and Paul Zack; (2012) Kevin Beal, Rod Gaspar, Sarah “Cheech” Gibson, Brad Harris, Rick “Truck” Miller, Christine Phillips, Dennis Putman, Dan Ripley, Scott Cathcart, Tom DeLong, Ed Knox, Harry Nelson, Bill Sprague, and Kent Taylor; (2013) Nate Fernley, Tom Hicks, Paula Libby-Herbaugh, Stefan Ludecke, Shellie McCall, Bob Meredith, Rich Plante, Carmelo Rios, John Sagehorn, Steve Tully, and Karen Vigilant-Goodman.